Wind O’Clock

There is a phenomenon here in Portugal and it is called Wind O’Clock.

Well, that is what we have called it. Because really no-one seems to be able to make up their mind on what to call it.

I am not even sure if it is a phenomenon. A phenomenon suggests something rather magical and unexplained. I am sure someone somewhere will be able to explain this quite simply. I personally guess it is something to do with heat and sea and evaporation and cooling. But in what order I don’t know.

Anyway, it is quite simply a strong, gusting wind that suddenly appears in the afternoon at some random time that no-one can seem to agree on. Blasting it’s warm way across the land from the sea. 

P1080023

When we first arrived in Portugal we were at friends for lunch and without warning the wind suddenly got up and parasols were blown to kingdom come and floaty skirts were asunder.

“Ah”, our hosts said sagely. “That is the three o’clock wind. Without fail, at three o’clock it will appear.”

“You can set your clock by it,” they added.

So there we were, something new learnt. At another rendezvous with some recently arrived friends the said wind got up and C and I looked knowingly at each other.

P1080038

“That’ll be the three o’clock wind,” we said in unsion and perhaps a little smugly at our new found knowledge. “You can set your clock by it.”

Our friends looked at their watches and then asked what time zone the wind was on as it was gone four o’clock.

Oh.

This happened on more than one occasion. With the wind appearing at various times throughout the afternoon, from three until six. But even though it was obviously not a time dependent thing people still insist on calling it and calling it quite determinedly the ‘something o’clock’ wind, depending, I would guess, on when it is most apparent to themselves.

Not ones to rock the boat, we just say it’s Wind O’Clock. And sure enough, it appears at some time o’clock most sunny, warm days.

I just wouldn’t set your watch by it, that’s all.

P1080047

5 thoughts on “Wind O’Clock

  1. Fascinating – sounds kind of magical! 🙂 I would be a little concerned if it did arrive everyday at 3 O’clock – it may reveal we are all living in something not too different from the Truman Show (I hope you’ve seen that film) and you might just hear in the distance just before the wind dies down, a director shout CUT!

    Talking of films I couldn’t help but notice the Dorothy Michaels up there (Tootsie), nice of her to pop by and give you a like!!! 😉 Certainly made me smile! 😀

    • 😀 I am not quite sure how it started but my friend and I send that picture of Tootsie to each other whenever we need cheering up. It always makes us laugh, it’s just her face. But anyway, my friend helps run a cafe and she is always telling me all these wonderful and funny stories so I said she needed to start a blog. Which she has done and has obviously chosen Tootsie as her avatar. 🙂

  2. A lovely little insight to your life in Portugal. Sitting in the cool of the early evening here in the East of England, it is around 15C or less, only a week from mid-summers day, I can only dream of warm summer winds! 🙂

  3. Pingback: One Word Weather – Sizzling | Tosta Mista

  4. Pingback: One Word Weather 20th July 2013 – Dank….. | Tosta Mista

Leave a comment